Monika's blog (my 1st blog ever :) )

ICTMA

PowerPoint presentations

Leave a comment

2009-09-21-let-me-read-you-my-powerpoint-presentation

http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2013/07/education_thats_not_to_the_poi.html

I must admit I loved that article! I completely agree with the point of view that the author of the article wanted to share with his readers. During my studies (especially at the University) I have seen many power-point presentations and generally said many of them were so boring  that I couldn’t focus and I often almost fell asleep, which was caused mainly by the attitude of presenters and monotony (f.e. reading the whole exact text in presentation). On the other hand some of them were really exciting and I remember them even now! Additionally, I agree with the fact that pupils might not understand or keep up with the presentation as well as presenter so that the teaching itself looses its effectivity.

I would say PP-presentations of pupils are very good means of learning how to present things to a public so I would definitely include pupils’ presentations in lessons. I personally used few presentations during my teaching practice and I really based them on the interaction with pupils – so there were only few notes, mainly pictures, questions for pupils or some exercises. Pupils enjoyed it but I think they should not be used in all lessons – ideally, presentations and simple lecturing connected with making notes on the board should  take turns.

Leave a comment