Monika's blog (my 1st blog ever :) )

ICTMA


Leave a comment

Weblogs for Use with ESL Classes

weblog

http://iteslj.org/Techniques/Campbell-Weblogs.html

There is once more described “blog” – what it is good for etc. which I have already read and I have written a few lines about weblogs in my previous comments. This one particularly deals with 3 types of blogs in ESL classrooms so you can see a short summary beneath:

  1. the tutor blog –>  designed by the tutor for learners, the teacher tries to make tasks interesting and descreetly leads pupils to be active and to participate
  2. the learner blog –> run by learners or particular groups, a good choice especially for reading or writing classes
  3. the class blog –> the whole class participates and add comments, materials, etc.


Leave a comment

7 Things You Should Know about Wikis

Wiki (1)

 

http://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ELI7004.pdf

You can find any valid information about wikis (” the easest and most effective Web-based collaboration tool”) in this short article – who invented it, some facts from history, how it works and many others. There is also highlighted and explained the simplicity of the wiki so that anyone can use it without difficulties. I was surprised f.e. by the information about experimenting with wikis as pupils’ e-portfolios at some schools. All in all, wiki is mostly praised there. Just to mention some disadvantage – a major downside of wikis is considered to be users opportunity to modify content.   


Leave a comment

Blogging with Students

6a00d83452d45869e2015438246251970c-800wi

 

http://jasonrenshaw.typepad.com/jason_renshaws_web_log/2011/12/blogging-with-students-1-why-get-them-blogging.html

The article deals with blogging similarly as the article which I have read before, however,  in this case the content is focused on advantages that students can be provided by. I agree with the idea of possible “exploring” hidden talents which wouldn’t be discovered during the learning proccess at school where everyone becomes “pigeonholed”. Through sending some photos, sharing essays etc. readers may notice students’ other skills and that is great. I really like the idea of writing about students’ personal experience during a learning process continuing then after they finish studies – with real working experience. This might be interesting for many young people. 


Leave a comment

Online Communication Tools that Promote Language Learning

Yahoo-Messenger

http://ww3.fl.ul.pt/unil/pol7/pol7_txt8.pdf

The most important thing mentioned in the article – these online communication tools are used through the computer, which is exciting for teenagers. Another thing that might be appealing to them are real life ineractions. I don’t have any experience with Yahoo groups as I successfully avoid anything similar to that 🙂 …so I can’t tell whether it is good or not for language teaching/learning. But it seems to me that those yahoo groups etc. are probably based on the same principles as f.e. Facebook. Concerning Yahoo Messenger – for me it’s the same like Skype with all functions (the article literally says it is  “4 in 1 tool”).

I also appreciate that the article mentions the problems of “misusing” language as the use of informal language is more probable  when chating etc. But still – any communication is better then none 🙂 


Leave a comment

The Amazing Web 2.0 Projects Book

Web2.0Book

 Generally, the Amazing Web 2.0 Projects Book offers great ideas how to improve and modernise teaching English. I had a look at some parts and I would like to mention some of projects which I considered very interesting. One of those is Cook It, Taste It, ICT IT – that is awesome 🙂 I went through the recipes and videos and at that time I really wanted to try those recipes 🙂 I believe this could be very enjoyable for students because of the fact they “take responsibility” and share our country’s “cooking traditions”. I also liked multimedia posters and glogsters – though I saw only few which were consisting mostly of photos. I would add more text in order to improve English languge writing skills, vocabulary etc. But it is a very nice idea too:) The project of Planetfesto appealed to me too, it is similar to the previous one, unfortunately, I couldn’t open the file with an example. The last thing I would like to mention – Talking Book Report – this is amazing! It combines fun and learning + developing language skills and I just like it..I wish I could create a blabber too 🙂


Leave a comment

Skype in the EFL Class

Skype-Logo

 

http://www.hltmag.co.uk/aug10/sart01.htm

Skype belongs to popular means of communication these days and it is not common only among teenagers. I can easily imagine the use of Skype during pupils’ learning process in order to improve their English. Especially, if it would be possible to communicate through Skype with English speaking pupils living f.e. in Britain – that could be a great motivation for students to learn more so that they would be able to speak to other teenagers abroad. Although I do not use Skype (as I don’t like communication with my Czech friends etc. through the internet), I am open to use it as a teaching aid.


Leave a comment

What Makes a Successful Online Student?

Student-Online-Learning-AVLS-OASIS-Virtual21

 

http://www.ion.uillinois.edu/resources/tutorials/pedagogy/StudentProfile.asp

I was thinking about studying online when reading this article and I realised I can’t decide whether I am fan of that or not. I would say I am partly for the online form of study – if it concerns just some parts of study as f.e. individual project work or f.e. our ICTMA course, but I would not want to study fully online.

I am sure that being the online student is not easy as some people might think. A good point in that form is the “upgrade” of person’s independence and self- activity as well as cooperation with other students. In spite of that, I would miss the real contact with people – the communication with all aspects of it. Being good at expressing yourself through writing is very important, however, it is not enough. People need to be able to communicate and express themselves orally, which virtual class studying doesn’t provide. Anyway, I think the possiblity to learn online is great, everyone can find the way of learning which satisfies him 🙂   


Leave a comment

Netiquette

Netiquette         netiquette-athira

 

http://www.livinginternet.com/i/ia_nq.htm

I have never heard the word “netiquette” but it is very appeling to me. I like the idea that users of the internet should act according to the etiquette and I think everyone should read the “rules” compulsorily. By the way, the word “newbie” is really cute 🙂

I agree with all the rules, especially “Research before asking” – which is totally my case. I don’t understand why people sometimes ask so stupid questions publically- I mean the case when the answer to the question is almost beneath the question. This really bothers me. Another thing – capitals in emails – I don’t like it. As it was mentioned in the rules, you never know how the person you are writing to percieves your message.  Concerning briefness of emails -I completely agree, however, I have sometimes dificulties with that 🙂 On the other hand I really appreciate “white space” as it is helpful for readers. Additionally, I didn’t know that sending isnulting messages or comments is called “flaming”. Anyway, I consider that to be a humiliation of the author who writes such comments. 

To sum up my point of view towards netiquette – I am glad something like that exists and I got the opportunity to have a look at it as I really haven’t come across it. Everyone should simply got through the rules and avoid inappropriate behaviour – that would be lovely for everyone 🙂


Leave a comment

PowerPoint presentations

2009-09-21-let-me-read-you-my-powerpoint-presentation

http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2013/07/education_thats_not_to_the_poi.html

I must admit I loved that article! I completely agree with the point of view that the author of the article wanted to share with his readers. During my studies (especially at the University) I have seen many power-point presentations and generally said many of them were so boring  that I couldn’t focus and I often almost fell asleep, which was caused mainly by the attitude of presenters and monotony (f.e. reading the whole exact text in presentation). On the other hand some of them were really exciting and I remember them even now! Additionally, I agree with the fact that pupils might not understand or keep up with the presentation as well as presenter so that the teaching itself looses its effectivity.

I would say PP-presentations of pupils are very good means of learning how to present things to a public so I would definitely include pupils’ presentations in lessons. I personally used few presentations during my teaching practice and I really based them on the interaction with pupils – so there were only few notes, mainly pictures, questions for pupils or some exercises. Pupils enjoyed it but I think they should not be used in all lessons – ideally, presentations and simple lecturing connected with making notes on the board should  take turns.


Leave a comment

What to do with Wikis

wiki

http://teflgeek.net/2011/11/09/what-to-do-with-wikis-an-elt-perspective/

Honestly, when I see the word Wiki – a Wikipedia always comes to my mind – unfortunately I don’t have a good judgement about it mostly because of constant prohibitions at school concerning the use of it as a source (although,I used it very much in past for my studies).But the article is not about that of course.   

 Personally , I am not a fan of  wikiI really do not mean to offend anyone – this is just my personal point of view. I find some things about wiki interesting, although  in my opinion it would be  rather  improbable to use this with pupils at elementary schools (based on my experience from teaching practice). If I decided to create something like that for pupils, I would do it through the means of blog. Though,  what concerns a teacher being site administrator, I think it is very good to have the acces to all changes that pupils made (as the article mentions – the teacher can see whether the pupil makes constantly the same mistake). The idea about writing open-ended story seems very interesting and I am sure pupils would like to be a part of something like that as they would have a chance to use their creativity and imagination.