Monika's blog (my 1st blog ever :) )

ICTMA

What to do with Wikis

Leave a comment

wiki

http://teflgeek.net/2011/11/09/what-to-do-with-wikis-an-elt-perspective/

Honestly, when I see the word Wiki – a Wikipedia always comes to my mind – unfortunately I don’t have a good judgement about it mostly because of constant prohibitions at school concerning the use of it as a source (although,I used it very much in past for my studies).But the article is not about that of course.   

 Personally , I am not a fan of  wikiI really do not mean to offend anyone – this is just my personal point of view. I find some things about wiki interesting, although  in my opinion it would be  rather  improbable to use this with pupils at elementary schools (based on my experience from teaching practice). If I decided to create something like that for pupils, I would do it through the means of blog. Though,  what concerns a teacher being site administrator, I think it is very good to have the acces to all changes that pupils made (as the article mentions – the teacher can see whether the pupil makes constantly the same mistake). The idea about writing open-ended story seems very interesting and I am sure pupils would like to be a part of something like that as they would have a chance to use their creativity and imagination. 

Leave a comment